Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) vs iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021)
Quick look
| Figure | Mac Studio M1 Max1 | iMac M12 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | £1,9993launch price | £1,2494launch price |
| Chip | M1 Maxchip | M1chip |
| CPU | 10-coreCPU | 8-coreCPU |
| GPU | 24-coreGPU | 7-coreGPU |
| Memory | 32GBunified memory, base | 8GBunified memory, base |
| Storage | 512GBstorage, base | 256GBstorage, base |
| Display | Not available5No built-in display | 24-inchdisplay |
| Released | 18 March 20223ReleasedIn select Apple Stores; orderable online from 8 March 2022. | May 20216Release date, month onlyOrderable online from 30 April 2021. |
| Security updates | Not available7Security updates | Not available7Security updates |
- Price
- The Mac Studio M1 Max is £1,999 at launch, per Apple Newsroom (UK); the iMac M1 is £1,249 at launch, per Apple Newsroom (UK).
- Kind of Mac
- The Mac Studio M1 Max is a desktop; the iMac M1 is an all-in-one. The iMac M1 has a built-in 24-inch display and a camera, whereas the Mac Studio M1 Max has neither.
True to scale
A desktop and an all-in-one are different shapes, so they stand side by side rather than superposed: the front face of one and the front face of the other, from Apple’s published dimensions, at one scale. Corner rounding is our drawing convention, not a measurement.
Specifications
Each figure is from the source marked by its Mac’s name unless it carries its own small number, which links to where that figure was read.
Body
| Specification | Mac Studio M1 Max1 | iMac M12 |
|---|---|---|
| Dimensions | 95 x 197 x 197 mm | 461 x 547 x 147 mm |
| Weight | 2.7 kg | 4.46 kg |
| Colours | Silver | Blue, Green, Pink, Silver8 |
| Ports | Four Thunderbolt 4 ports, two USB-A ports (up to 5Gb/s), HDMI port, 10Gb Ethernet, 3.5mm headphone jack; on front (M1 Max): two USB-C ports (up to 10Gb/s), SDXC card slot (UHS-II) | Two Thunderbolt / USB 4 ports, 3.5mm headphone jack |
| Thunderbolt ports9 | 4 | 2 |
| Thunderbolt version | Thunderbolt 4 | Thunderbolt 3 |
| USB-A ports | 2 | No USB-A ports.10 |
| HDMI | HDMI port | No HDMI port.11 |
| SD card slot | Yes | No SD card slot.11 |
| Headphone jack | Yes | Yes |
| Keyboard | Not available12 | Magic Keyboard |
| Touch ID | Not available13 | No Touch ID.10 |
Display
| Specification | Mac Studio M1 Max1 | iMac M12 |
|---|---|---|
| Display size | Not available5 | 24 in |
| Resolution | Not available5 | 4480 x 2520 |
| Pixel density | Not available5 | 218 ppi |
| Display type | Not available5 | 4.5K Retina display |
| Brightness | Not available5 | 500 nits |
| Wide colour (P3) | Not available5 | Yes |
| Nano-texture option | Not available5 | No nano-texture display option.11 |
Chip and memory
| Specification | Mac Studio M1 Max1 | iMac M12 |
|---|---|---|
| Chip | Apple M1 Max chip | Apple M1 chip |
| Apple silicon | Yes | Yes |
| CPU cores | 10 | 8 |
| Performance cores | 8 | 4 |
| Efficiency cores | 2 | 4 |
| GPU cores | 24 | 7 |
| Neural Engine cores | 16 | 16 |
| Chip options | M1 Max with 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU, or M1 Max with 10-core CPU and 32-core GPU14 | M1 with 8-core CPU and 7-core GPU or 8-core GPU |
| Memory (base) | 32GB | 8GB |
| Memory (maximum) | 64GB14 | 16GB |
| Memory options | 32GB or 64GB14 | 8GB or 16GB |
| Memory upgradeable by user | Not available15 | No, as Apple documents16 |
| Memory bandwidth | 400 GB/s | Not available17 |
| Storage (base) | 512GB | 256GB |
| Storage (maximum) | 8TB14 | 2TB |
| Storage options | 512GB, 1TB, 2TB, 4TB or 8TB14 | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB or 2TB |
| Media engine | Hardware-accelerated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAWvideo decode enginetwo video encode enginestwo ProRes encode and decode engines | Not available17 |
Battery and power
| Specification | Mac Studio M1 Max1 | iMac M12 |
|---|---|---|
| Included power adapter | Not available18 | 143 W |
| Maximum continuous power | 370 W | Not available17 |
Connectivity
| Specification | Mac Studio M1 Max1 | iMac M12 |
|---|---|---|
| Wi-Fi | 802.11ax Wi-Fi 6 | 802.11ax Wi-Fi 6 |
| Bluetooth | 5.0 | 5.0 |
| Ethernet | 10Gb Ethernet (Nbase-T Ethernet with support for 1Gb, 2.5Gb, 5Gb and 10Gb Ethernet using RJ-45 connector) | Gigabit Ethernet configurable19 |
| External displays (base) | 5 | 1 |
Camera and audio
| Specification | Mac Studio M1 Max1 | iMac M12 |
|---|---|---|
| Camera | Not available20 | 1080p FaceTime HD camera |
| Speakers | Built-in speaker21 | High-fidelity six-speaker system with force-cancelling woofers |
| Microphones | Not available15 | Studio-quality three-mic array with high signal-to-noise ratio and directional beamforming |
Sources
Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs ·
↩Apple Support (UK) — iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021) - Technical Specifications ·
↩Apple Newsroom (UK) — Apple unveils all-new Mac Studio and Studio Display ·
↩- ↩
Doesn’t apply: no built-in display
↩- ↩
Security updates: no end date published.
↩Apple Support (UK) — Identify your iMac model ·
↩Different Thunderbolt generations. Mac Studio M1 Max: Thunderbolt 4. iMac M1: Thunderbolt 3.
↩iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021): No USB-A ports. No Touch ID.
↩iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021): No HDMI port. No SD card slot. No nano-texture display option.
↩Doesn’t apply: no built-in keyboard
↩Doesn’t apply: no built-in keyboard, and Touch ID is a keyboard feature
↩Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs ·
↩Not published by Apple.
↩Apple Support (UK) — Install memory in an iMac ·
↩Not published by Apple.
↩Doesn’t apply: internal power supply, no power adapter in the box
↩Apple Support (UK) — iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021) - Technical Specifications ·
↩Doesn’t apply: no built-in camera
↩Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs ·
↩Apple Support (UK) — macOS 27 Golden Gate is compatible with these computers ·
↩Apple Support (UK) — Identify your Mac Studio model ·
↩Apple Support (UK) — Identify your iMac model ·
↩Geekbench Browser (Primate Labs) ·
↩
Not published by Apple
Mac Studio M1 Max. Apple doesn’t publish for this Mac: storage upgradeable by user, the macOS it shipped with. Geekbench 7 Metal: the Mac chart row for this Mac does not state its GPU core count, so no Metal score is shown (chart read 10 Oct 2026). Pages checked: Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs; Apple Newsroom (UK) — Apple unveils all-new Mac Studio and Studio Display; Apple Support (UK) — Identify your Mac Studio model, read 9 Oct 2026.
iMac M1. Apple doesn’t publish for this Mac: refresh rate, storage upgradeable by user, the macOS it shipped with. Geekbench 7 Metal: the Mac chart row for this Mac does not state its GPU core count, so no Metal score is shown (chart read 10 Oct 2026). Pages checked: Apple Support (UK) — iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021) - Technical Specifications; Apple Support (UK) — Identify your iMac model; Apple Newsroom (UK) — iMac features all-new design in vibrant colours, M1 chip, and 4.5K Retina display, read 9 Oct 2026.
If you own one of them
Whether to move is a different question from which is better. Each Mac has a page on it: what its successor changes (the newest Mac in its line where Apple sells one, otherwise the Mac this site treats as its replacement, which can be in another line), what it fetches and whether it still gets updates. Should I upgrade my Mac Studio M1 Max (2022)? · Should I upgrade my iMac M1 (24-inch, 2021)?
Other comparisons
The pairs a buyer of either Mac would also weigh. Any two Macs in the catalogue can be compared from the chooser.