Skip to content
MacIQ

Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) vs Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)

Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022)1Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)2

Quick look

Quick look: Mac Studio M1 Max against Mac Studio M1 Ultra
FigureMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
Price£1,9993launch price£3,9994launch price
ChipM1 MaxchipM1 Ultrachip
CPU10-coreCPU20-coreCPU
GPU24-coreGPU48-coreGPU
Memory32GBunified memory, base64GBunified memory, base
Storage512GBstorage, base1TBstorage, base
Released18 March 20223ReleasedIn select Apple Stores; orderable online from 8 March 2022.18 March 20225ReleasedIn select Apple Stores; orderable online from 8 March 2022.
Security updatesNot available6Security updatesNot available7Security updates
Price
The Mac Studio M1 Max is £1,999 at launch, per Apple Newsroom (UK); the Mac Studio M1 Ultra is £3,999 at launch, per Apple UK Store (archived 8 March 2022).

True to scale

Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) · 197 × 95 mm frontMac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022) · 197 × 95 mm front

Front faces, from Apple’s published dimensions, drawn to one scale and superposed. Corner rounding is our drawing convention, not a measurement.

Specifications

Each figure is from the source marked by its Mac’s name unless it carries its own small number, which links to where that figure was read.

Body

Body: Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) against Apple Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)
SpecificationMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
Dimensions95 x 197 x 197 mm95 x 197 x 197 mm
Weight2.7 kg3.6 kg
ColoursSilverSilver
PortsFour Thunderbolt 4 ports, two USB-A ports (up to 5Gb/s), HDMI port, 10Gb Ethernet, 3.5mm headphone jack; on front (M1 Max): two USB-C ports (up to 10Gb/s), SDXC card slot (UHS-II)Four Thunderbolt 4 ports, two USB-A ports (up to 5Gb/s), HDMI port, 10Gb Ethernet, 3.5mm headphone jack; on front (M1 Ultra): two Thunderbolt 4 ports (up to 40Gb/s), SDXC card slot (UHS‑II)
Thunderbolt ports46
Thunderbolt versionThunderbolt 4Thunderbolt 4
USB-A ports22
HDMIHDMI portHDMI port
SD card slotYesYes
Headphone jackYesYes

Chip and memory

Chip and memory: Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) against Apple Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)
SpecificationMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
ChipApple M1 Max chipApple M1 Ultra chip
Apple siliconYesYes
CPU cores1020
Performance cores816
Efficiency cores24
GPU cores2448
Neural Engine cores1632
Chip optionsM1 Max with 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU, or M1 Max with 10-core CPU and 32-core GPU8M1 Ultra with 20-core CPU and 48-core GPU, or M1 Ultra with 20-core CPU and 64-core GPU
Memory (base)32GB64GB
Memory (maximum)64GB8128GB
Memory options32GB or 64GB864GB or 128GB
Memory bandwidth400 GB/s800 GB/s
Storage (base)512GB1TB
Storage (maximum)8TB88TB
Storage options512GB, 1TB, 2TB, 4TB or 8TB81TB, 2TB, 4TB or 8TB
Media engineHardware-accelerated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAWvideo decode enginetwo video encode enginestwo ProRes encode and decode enginesHardware-accelerated H.264, HEVC, ProRes, and ProRes RAWtwo video decode enginesfour video encode enginesfour ProRes encode and decode engines

Battery and power

Battery and power: Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) against Apple Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)
SpecificationMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
Maximum continuous power370 W370 W

Connectivity

Connectivity: Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) against Apple Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)
SpecificationMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
Wi-Fi802.11ax Wi-Fi 6802.11ax Wi‑Fi 6
Bluetooth5.05.0
Ethernet10Gb Ethernet (Nbase-T Ethernet with support for 1Gb, 2.5Gb, 5Gb and 10Gb Ethernet using RJ-45 connector)10Gb Ethernet (Nbase-T Ethernet with support for 1Gb, 2.5Gb, 5Gb and 10Gb Ethernet using RJ‑45 connector)
External displays (base)55

Camera and audio

Camera and audio: Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) against Apple Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)
SpecificationMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
SpeakersBuilt-in speaker9Built-in speaker9

Platform

Platform: Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) against Apple Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)
SpecificationMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
Newest macOSmacOS 27 Golden Gate10macOS 27 Golden Gate11
Model identifierMac13,112Mac13,213
Model year20222022

Benchmarks

Benchmarks: Apple Mac Studio (M1 Max, 2022) against Apple Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022)
SpecificationMac Studio M1 Max1Mac Studio M1 Ultra2
Geekbench 7 (CPU, single-core)2,229142,22015
Geekbench 7 (CPU, multi-core)14,3191423,57515

Sources

  1. Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs · Default for Mac Studio M1 Max · Apple’s figure · read 15 Sep 2026

    ↩
  2. Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs · Default for Mac Studio M1 Ultra · Apple’s figure · read 30 Sep 2026

    ↩
  3. Apple Newsroom (UK) — Apple unveils all-new Mac Studio and Studio Display · Apple’s figure · read 15 Sep 2026

    ↩
  4. Apple UK Store (archived 8 March 2022) — Mac Studio, M1 Ultra with 20-core CPU and 48-core GPU, 64GB, 1TB, £3,999.00 · third-party figure · read 11 Oct 2026

    ↩
  5. Apple Newsroom (UK) — Apple unveils all-new Mac Studio and Studio Display · Apple’s figure · read 30 Sep 2026

    ↩
  6. Security updates: no end date published. Checked: endoflife.date. Read 22 Sep 2026

    ↩
  7. Security updates: no end date published. Checked: endoflife.date. Read 30 Sep 2026

    ↩
  8. Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs · Apple’s figure · read 2 Oct 2026

    ↩
  9. Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs · Apple’s figure · read 9 Oct 2026

    ↩
  10. Apple Support (UK) — macOS 27 Golden Gate is compatible with these computers · Apple’s figure · read 22 Sep 2026

    ↩
  11. Apple Support (UK) — macOS 27 Golden Gate is compatible with these computers · Apple’s figure · read 30 Sep 2026

    ↩
  12. Apple Support (UK) — Identify your Mac Studio model · Apple’s figure · read 15 Sep 2026

    ↩
  13. Apple Support (UK) — Identify your Mac Studio model · Apple’s figure · read 30 Sep 2026

    ↩
  14. Geekbench Browser (Primate Labs) · third-party figure · read 11 Oct 2026

    ↩
  15. Geekbench Browser (Primate Labs) — Mac Studio (M1 Ultra, 2022) · third-party figure · read 30 Sep 2026

    ↩

Not published by Apple

Mac Studio M1 Max. Apple doesn’t publish for this Mac: memory upgradeable by user, storage upgradeable by user, microphones, the macOS it shipped with. Geekbench 7 Metal: the Mac chart row for this Mac does not state its GPU core count, so no Metal score is shown (chart read 10 Oct 2026). Pages checked: Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs; Apple Newsroom (UK) — Apple unveils all-new Mac Studio and Studio Display; Apple Support (UK) — Identify your Mac Studio model, read 9 Oct 2026.

Mac Studio M1 Ultra. Apple doesn’t publish for this Mac: memory upgradeable by user, storage upgradeable by user, microphones, the macOS it shipped with. Geekbench 7 Metal: the Mac chart row for this Mac does not state its GPU core count, so no Metal score is shown (chart read 10 Oct 2026). Pages checked: Apple Support (UK) — Mac Studio (2022) - Tech Specs; Apple Newsroom (UK) — Apple unveils all-new Mac Studio and Studio Display; Apple Support (UK) — Identify your Mac Studio model, read 9 Oct 2026.

If you own one of them

Whether to move is a different question from which is better. Each Mac has a page on it: what its successor changes (the newest Mac in its line where Apple sells one, otherwise the Mac this site treats as its replacement, which can be in another line), what it fetches and whether it still gets updates. Should I upgrade my Mac Studio M1 Max (2022)? · Should I upgrade my Mac Studio M1 Ultra (2022)?

The pairs a buyer of either Mac would also weigh. Any two Macs in the catalogue can be compared from the chooser.